37 Comments

I just realized that I should try to talk to myself the way experts tell us to talk to toddlers. Instead of “Good job, Morgan,” speak to the effort/feeling/outcome. “Morgan, you took care of that right away and now it’s over, you don’t have to think about it anymore! That must feel good.”

Expand full comment

Bouquets! They don't have to be fancy - I buy flowers at Trader Joe's all the time - but they elevate my mood so, so much. Unexpectedly much. And I do sometimes move them from room to room with me. Office-->living room-->bedroom, repeat. Bouquets!

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Usually a little shimmy or some other small spontaneous dance move.

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I say "yay!" a lot and buy a book. Celebrating with cookies tends to happen too! :)

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I used to take myself to a matinee at the awesome movie theater down the street from me, but since Covid I'm not quite there yet. So now it's a movie in bed with popcorn and m & m's mixed in, cat curled up in my lap. Total peace 🙏🏻

Expand full comment

I celebrate myself by writing down something I've done well each week at work that's not dependent on someone else saying, "Good job." I used to recognise myself when others praised me, but then one of my former bosses said that's tying my self-worth to an external, uncontrollable metric (with which I wholeheartedly agree and it's one of my weaknesses). They said to start recognising me for what "I" think is good, what "I" am proud of. So I'd recognise myself for things like taking initiative to do something, completing something to a high standard. Shift the focus away from others' praise to me praising myself for something I'm proud of. As for things like fancy dinners and sneaking out of work early... I do those things all the time. I don't consider them rewards or celebrations, just personal time that I'm entitled to and the joys of life.

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Naps, a salty snack, and reading a book!

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

mostly with good food!!! I love treating myself to fancy dinners when I can. That or watching a movie with wine and/or ice cream :)

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Skintight leather pants 🎸

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Naps. Gummy bears. Some sort of outdoor gear.

Expand full comment

Books, stationary or spending time writing journalling or lyrics with my new fountain pen, I love words! simple pleasures, and of course an episode of Downton Abbey!

Expand full comment

haha one time, after surviving a hellacious traffic situation, I headed to The Pen, sat myself at the restaurant at the lobby and ordered a glass of red wine and a plate of fries. Haven't done this since Covid but now that we're opening up, it's looking to be in my agenda.

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Arranging flowers. Joyous differences in texture and color. Fortunately, had a great opportunity to take a ikebana class. I use sticks and dried weeds.

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

A nice glass of wine and a good book!

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Watching a favorite show/movie with some popcorn and a glass of something.

Chocolate.

Doing a little happy dance.

Bragging to my besties.

Expand full comment
Nov 19, 2021Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I love this question! It makes me realize: I think that I am much better at giving myself pep talks before a thing than I am celebrating??

Then I thought about it a little longer, and excavated this post from Havi Brooks/The Fluent Self: https://www.fluentself.com/blog/stuff/welcome-to-the-communal-sparklepoint-society-of-everything-counts-wham-boom-wham-boom/

Since I read that post (years ago), I now mutter "WHAM FUCKING BOOM!!!" or "ten thousand sparklepoints to me" when I finish things--which feels like a tiny yet crucial celebration.

Expand full comment

I just got frozen yogurt after a particularly challenging of mine just got signed off, and even though I ALWAYS get frozen yogurt anyway, this one feels extra special because – yay the project was finally signed off!

Expand full comment