36 Comments
Apr 1, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

When I was six, we moved to Oahu for two years for my dad's work. We lived on the beach on the No. Shore, with a little cove in front protected from high surf by a reef. I had two little sisters, age 4 and 1. The one-year-old hated sand on her feet, so Dad dragged a cardboard box down, and set it next to the blanket. The baby cooed in the box, my and other sis swam (no bathing suits) in what we called the pool. Dad put a long bungee cord around a big airplane tire and held onto it while we rode the little waves in the cove. I can hear him laughing, and Mom laughing, and when they laughed, the baby would laugh just because they did. Those two years. Simple, sunny, mostly quiet. Their laughter, and the beach and the little waves. Everything.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I liked to 'share' small gravel from our driveway with our neighbor's very patient dog, Freckles. I was about 4-5, and would get handfuls, walk over to the fence and 'feed' it to her. She would patiently take it in her mouth, wait till I turned to go back, and then deposit it in the grass. She was probably part Border collie, a very sweet smart dog.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

This question sparked an interesting reflection for me. I can't think of a single thing I loved to share as a child. I was an only child and pretty heavily (read: overly) protected by my Asian parents and didn't really get to spend much time with other kids outside school. So there wasn't really anyone for me to share things with. And I think my focus as a child was more to get things for myself, not to share them. Thinking really hard about this, I guess I could say I shared the movies I loved with my grandparents every Saturday. I was pretty enthusiastic about playing the movies I loved for them, convinced that they'd love them too. Though I can't really say I loved the sharing. I think the only thing I can truly say I loved as a child is reading (a love I've now lost). Now I'm getting off topic. As I said, your question sparked an interesting reflection. Thank you! I love your discussion threads. 💓

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I'd share my parentless house with the neighbor girls so we could dance to the Beatles. My parents would go our, and the neighbors were ready to boogie, LPs on the stereo console. Thanks! I hadn't thought to that naughty activity in a long time!

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2022·edited Apr 1, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

When I was a kid, I used to invite people over to listen to CDs. Just whatever I thought was amazing. This later became mixed tapes, burnt CDs and finally SoundCloud streams.

I guess I just hoped they’d have the same experience or reaction I did. However, I probably ruined that a bit by staring intently, studying their face and making them feel a bit self-conscious.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Terrible jokes. I had a Fozzie Bear joke book. I wanted people to like me. So I shared extremely corny jokes.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

When I was in elementary school, a neighbor boy and I shared Hardy Boys books with each other. I read Nancy Drew too, but he wasn’t interested. We made a “fort” in my garage and read for hours. My mother believed me when I told her we were just reading! Became a reading teacher when when I finally grew up.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I used to share my Pokemon cards with friends :) there are so many different characters to appreciate and love - and I still remember the favorite Pokemon of each of my close friends back then

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

It's probably too on the nose, but I've been handselling/handsharing books since I was a child. <3

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I once read the word 'discombobulated' in a novel about a young girl who could hypnotise people, and used it incessantly for years, loosely shaping its meaning to whatever I fancied.

Only now as a grown up do I understand that is definitely does not mean 'drunk', 'dancing fast', or 'elated'.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I shared blankets ... to make forts! On rainy days my friends and I would build forts in my basement with all the spare blankets I could gather from around the house and bedrooms. On good days we'd pull all the lawn furniture together on the grass in the backyard and throw those blankets on top, holding everything together with clothespins! I remember we actually made tunnels and various rooms, some for reading, some for talking, some for lying down and pulling open a corner of the top blanket so we could watch the birds and see the clouds. Damn, those were good days. I can still smell the mustiness of the old heavy blankets and see the faded colours of the patterns. I will confess to introducing my three sons to fort building when they were young and not once did I grumble when all the cushions and blankets disappeared into the basement on a rainy day.

Expand full comment

I had two things I was always trying to share and still like to share. The first was my family, I adored them, and I just thought everybody’s life would be improved by experiencing my mother. The second was Haitian food, Growing up in Chicago I didn’t meet many Haitians outside of my family so I was constantly explaining my meals to people. After a point I felt like people who have never had a Haitian patty or our squash soup were missing out.

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I always had my nose stuck in a book when I was a kid. I would read just about anything, but what I loved were kids’ encyclopedias, books on how to do things, lists of top 10s, etc. I liked sharing little bits of trivia. Sometimes my friends were fascinated…other times not so much. It just made me more selective as an adult who I shared with.

PS: I can roll my tongue just once (would love to see a triple roll!), but I‘ve never known anyone besides myself who can wiggle their ears. 🙂

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I had a favorite place that I could ride my bike to. It was always fun to pack a lunch with a friend or two and have lunch there in the summer when we were in middle school. Once I got older I would often arrange to meet someone there. It was a charmed spot along the river in town. No idea why it seemed to be just me that knew about it. After I left town a flood came through and pretty much destroyed the spot. I’m okay with that. Everyone should have their own spot at that age.

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I loved sharing my toys. I was a very creative kid and I used to concoct intersecting universes where I could play with them all at once (regardless of size/theme). My brother and I would make a lot of messes that drove our mom mad but I thoroughly enjoyed losing myself in all that play. Thinking about it now, I guess I would like to rescue that part of myself; that openness. Now I am so protective of my play and creative projects...maybe I should be as open to sharing those too!!

Expand full comment

One of my favorite spaces when I was a kid was a tree house alongside a creek at my grandparent's house that was shared my entire set of cousins. I had little direct involvement in the making of the treehouse itself, but my cousins who constructed it with their dad had no more ownership than I did. It was simply the space of escape, imagination, snacks, privacy from adults.

Expand full comment
Apr 6, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I liked to share that I could bend my arm in a weird cool way. I didnt think it was that cool but apparently everyone else did! So I did it for the reactions and then everyone else trying to do the same thing. (Basically it’s putting my hand on the table then i bend my elbow inwards? So my arm is kinda a wing and then my elbow touches the table) Bahha

Expand full comment
deletedApr 1, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald
Comment deleted
Expand full comment