40 Comments
Jan 23, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Everyone has dreams, right? I've dreamt of publishing a book since I was a kid, and in recent years I've wanted to create a web site that ties in. I'm finishing up the first draft of my third book (all three novels to be published this year, released a couple of months after the first), and I'm fighting my way through teaching myself how to create a cool web site (KISS). One step at a time. One day at a time. I turn 62 this year and it's NEVER too late to do what is next.

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

My “next” was starting a PhD program in 2020. We call ourselves the ‘Covid cohort.’ I’m ~20 years older than most of the group and have loved every moment of it!

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

In lieu of big travel plans that will inevitably be cancelled we are going to finish hiking all the state parks in Tennessee. 🤷🏻‍♀️🎉 #goals

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I'm going with pleasure and joy, as much as I can here living alone and without family during this pandemic, and finally writing that dreamy romance novel I've always wanted to finish.

Expand full comment

I graduate with my M.Ed. and get my first classroom of preschoolers to teach. 🤞

Expand full comment

I've taken the plunge and started a webscomic.

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

My plans for the year... to love myself as fully as possible, and all that involves; to love others as fully as possible and tell them (gotta tell your friends you love them!). To travel as much as finances and covid allow. And maybe find a new doggo to be a part of the family.

Expand full comment

I'll be pivoting this spring from sitting at a desk to a life on my feet, walking, working, hiking, playing music, and more. I hope the majority of my time sitting will be on a bicycle seat.

Expand full comment

Slowly figuring out how I can work less on things I care less about (the "day job")and work more on things I care more about (artistic endeavors and teaching).

Expand full comment

Well the ongoing plan is going all in with my music - atm plan of recording a 'decent' live video of me singing and playing piano of one of my newly written songs! Who'd've thought it's so bloody difficult! currently awaiting a light and phone holder to get a better video - I'm a 'holding on' haha trying to stay focused on one thing at a time when it seems tricky in these times in keeping the joy :)

Expand full comment
Jan 24, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

The plan is to focus this year on building my writing career. I'm going to get over the fear of rejection and pitching, and get my essays out into the bigger world.

Expand full comment

I’m giving time to hobbies and curiosities. My first near decade in NYC was about making it work, now I’m having fun and encouraging frivolity. Starting violin lessons at 38, even though the last time I played was nearly 30 years ago. Dance classes. Going to the museums and restaurants I want to go to even if its not the best time.

Expand full comment

What I do next is keep putting one foot in front of the other like I have been for the last few years. Do my job as well as I can while mental health is my top priority; see people in person as often as is safe; get excited about turning 30 in spring. Lives are made one day at a time.

Expand full comment
Jan 28, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I've always found it difficult to ask for help or to talk to someone when I need to, because I always felt like a bother. This past year (Mom's heart attack and Dad's death) may have gone a lot better had I been able to talk to my friends. This year, I plan to seek help when I need it.

Expand full comment
Jan 25, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

I leave my current job on Feb 4 and start a new job on Feb 21. In between, I'm visiting friends in Albuquerque and Raleigh. Lots of fun times on the horizon!

Expand full comment
Jan 25, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald

Amazing and thoughtful work that you share. You are impacting many around you, one article at a time. Stay authentic, blessed and safe. Blessings

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2022·edited Feb 11, 2022

I have always been conservative physically -- no tattoos, no piercings. Back in the 1990s me and two friends had a death pact: whoever got their ear pierced and studded, the others would follow suit. My friend Wayne got his ear pierced; I didn't. Chickened out. When I turned 60, I wasn't sure what to do with myself. I was wondering if I had anything to offer. Would I ever have another original idea. A lot of negative stuff. To remind myself that anything was possible, and that there were many things left for me to accomplish/attempt, I decided to get a tattoo. An artist friend designed it. I'm not sure how well it translates when described, but I'll give it a shot. One of my heroes is Nelson Mandela who walked out of prison at the age 71, and became President of South Africa 4 years later. He never gave up. He never allowed himself to be consumed with bitterness or despair. And so... After avoiding it for a few months, I got my guts together, located a tattoo artist I thought was talented, and got my first and only tattoo. I got the tattoo on the inside of my left wrist so that I could see it, and it would remind me daily of what was possible. Mandela's initials formed the top of the tattoo, NRH, for Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela, a gentle arc below the initials to represent "the arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends toward justice, and below that the numbers 46664, Mandela's prison number. He was the 466th prisoner in 1964 on Robben Island. I look at the image every day, sometimes on purpose, often in passing, but whatever the reason, it reminds me of what is possible. I'm glad I did it. That said, I'm still not getting an earring!

Expand full comment
deletedJan 24, 2022Liked by Isaac Fitzgerald
Comment deleted
Expand full comment